New York City is one of the busiest and most populated cities in the world. The busy, crowded sidewalks and the high volume of traffic contributes to the number of hit and run accidents that occur here every year. For those involved in a hit and run accident, it can be difficult to know what to do. A driver might be involved in a car accident and then discover that his or her car is blocking traffic. After looking around, the driver may not be able to find the other driver involved in the accident. Drivers involved in a hit and run in New York should have a plan of action.
Steps to Take at the Scene of a Hit and Run Accident
The first thing to do is to stop at the scene of the car accident. New York law requires that all drivers involved in a crash stop at the scene. Drivers must exchange information and render reasonable assistance to any people who are injured in the accident. Any driver who leaves the scene of an accident can face hit-and-run charges and serious penalties. Individuals who commit hit-and-run accidents may face significant fines, jail time, or the revocation of their driver’s license.
Call the Police as Soon as Possible
As soon as you safely come to a stop, it is wise to call the New York City Police Department (NYPD). The sooner the police learn about the hit-and-run accident, the easier it will be to catch the suspect. When you call the police department, be sure to provide as much detail as to the scene of the accident as possible. Any details you can provide the police officer as to the make, model, and color of the other vehicle will help the police track down the driver down. Typically, the police department will send a police officer to the location of the accident to gather information to write a report and interview any witnesses.
Gather Information at the Scene
Make a note of the position of your car and take photos of your car and the surrounding area. Also make notes of inclement weather, poorly maintained roads, or any other factors that might have contributed to the accident. If the property damage to your vehicle exceeds $1,000, you are required to file an MV-104 report with the New York DMV within 10 days of the accident.
Dealing with Your Insurance Company
If police officers can locate the hit-and-run driver, you should be able to file a claim with the driver’s car insurance company. If the driver does not have car insurance, or if the police do not locate the hit-and-run driver, you may need to file an uninsured motorist claim with your own insurance company. In any event, it is wise to hire a skilled personal injury attorney as soon as possible after a hit-and-run accident. Contact the hit-and-run injury attorneys at Pulvers Thompson today to learn how we can help fight for your right to compensation.